Leave WhatsApp group privately, choose who can see you online: Zuckerberg
Meta Founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg announced three key privacy features in WhatsApp on Tuesday, giving users more control over their conversations and adding layers of protection when messaging.
New features let WhatsApp users leave group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots from showing messages once.
“We will continue to create new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations,” Zuckerberg said.
WhatsApp users will now be able to leave a group privately without having to notify everyone.
“Now, instead of notifying the whole group when they leave, only admins will be notified. This feature starts rolling out to all users this month,” the social network said.
WhatsApp also introduced the ability to select who can and cannot see when you’re online. The feature will start rolling out to all users this month.
WhatsApp also enables screenshot blocking for “View Once” messages for an extra layer of protection.
This feature is currently being tested and will soon be rolled out to users.
“Over the years, we’ve added interlocking layers of protection to help secure their conversations, and the new features are a way for us to continue to deliver on our commitment to keeping messages private,” said Ami Vora, Chief produced at WhatsApp.
“To raise awareness of these new features, we are also launching a global campaign, starting with the UK and India, to educate people on how we are working to protect their private conversations on WhatsApp,” Vora added.
(Only the title and image of this report may have been edited by Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)